Academic Advisory Committees

The South Africa – Sweden Research Seminar 2019 will address six key themes.  Participants will be divided into parallel sessions within each theme.

Each of the six themes is led by an Academic Advisory Committee (AAC).

Below you can find names and contact information of the responsible Academic Advisory Committee within each theme.

  1. Climate Change, Natural Resources and Sustainability
University Name Email address
Gothenburg University Hans Linderholm (chair);
Karlstad University Helen Williams
Tshwane University of Technology Ntebogeng Mokgalaka (chair);
University of South Africa Godwell Nhamo;
Stellenbosch University Paul Williams;
Stockholm University Lennart Bergström
University of Cape Town Sheona Shackleton


  1. Education for a Sustainable Society

University Name Email address
Malmö University Mona Holmqvist;
University West Per Assmo (chair);
University of the Western Cape Jose Frantz (chair);
KI Karolinska Institute Juha Nieminen
Stockholm University Kicki Skoog
University of Cape Town Kasturi Behari-Leak


  1. Social Transformation through Change: Knowledge and Social Development Strategies for Society
University Name Email address
Lund University Vasna Ramasar (chair);
University of Cape Town Dee Smythe (chair)
Karlstad University Hilde Ibsen;
University of Johannesburg Siphelo Ngcwangu
University of the Western Cape Shirley Brooks
University of Fort Hare Wilson Akpan/Ulene Schiller;;


  1. Understanding the Burden of Disease in Sweden and South Africa, and its Impact on the Health Systems of the two Countries in the Future

University Name Email address
Umeå University Anneli Ivarsson;
University West Martin Gellerstedt;
Lund University Per Olof Östergren (chair);
Durban University of Technology Noddy Jinabhai (chair);
KI Karolinska Institute Lucie Laflamme
Stockholm University Ilona Koupil


  1. Urbanisation and Cities in the 21st Century 
University Name Email address
Lund University Johan Jansson (Chair);
University of the Free State Wanda Verster;
Central University of Technology Fidelis Emuze;
Malmö University Maria Hellström Reimer;
University of Gothenburg Anders Larsson


  1. Digital Technologies, Big Data, and Cyber Security
University Name Email address
Malmö University Paul Davidsson;
Umeå University Mikael Wiberg;
Karlstad University Simone Fischer Hübner;
Cape Peninsula University of Technology Thomas Thurner;
Linköping University Nimmo Elmi
Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: