Academic Advisory Committees

Academic Advisory Committees

The South Africa – Sweden Research Seminar 2019 will address six key themes.  Participants will be divided into parallel sessions within each theme.

Each of the six themes is led by an Academic Advisory Committee (AAC).

Below you can find names and contact information of the responsible Academic Advisory Committee within each theme.

  1. Climate Change, Natural Resources and Sustainability
University Name Email address
Gothenburg University Hans Linderholm (chair) hansl@gvc.gu.se;
Karlstad University Helen Williams helen.williams@kau.se
Tshwane University of Technology Ntebogeng Mokgalaka (chair) MokgalakaNS@tut.ac.za;
University of South Africa Godwell Nhamo nhamog@unisa.ac.za;
Stellenbosch University Paul Williams pauljw@sun.ac.za;
Stockholm University Lennart Bergström lennart.bergstrom@mmk.su.se
University of Cape Town Sheona Shackleton sheona.shackleton@uct.ac.za

 

  1. Education for a Sustainable Society

kasturi.behari-leak@uct.ac.za

University Name Email address
Malmö University Mona Holmqvist mona.holmqvist@mah.se;
University West Per Assmo (chair) Per.assmo@hv.se;
University of the Western Cape Jose Frantz (chair) jfrantz@uwc.ac.za;
KI Karolinska Institute Juha Nieminen juha.nieminen@ki.se
Stockholm University Kicki Skoog kicki.skog@mnd.su.se
University of Cape Town Kasturi Behari-Leak

 

  1. Social Transformation through Change: Knowledge and Social Development Strategies for Society
University Name Email address
Lund University Vasna Ramasar (chair) vasna.ramasar@lucsus.lu.se;
University of Cape Town Dee Smythe (chair) dee.smythe@uct.ac.za
Karlstad University Hilde Ibsen hilde.ibsen@kau.se;
University of Johannesburg Siphelo Ngcwangu siphelon@uj.ac.za
University of the Western Cape Shirley Brooks
sbrooks@uwc.ac.za
University of Fort Hare Wilson Akpan/Ulene Schiller wakpan@ufh.ac.za; uschiller@ufh.ac.za;

 

  1. Understanding the Burden of Disease in Sweden and South Africa, and its Impact on the Health Systems of the two Countries in the Future

Lucie.Laflamme@ki.se

University Name Email address
Umeå University Anneli Ivarsson anneli.ivarsson@umu.se;
University West Martin Gellerstedt martin.gellerstedt@hv.se;
Lund University Per Olof Östergren (chair) per-olof.ostergren@med.lu.se;
Durban University of Technology Noddy Jinabhai (chair) n.jinabhai@gmail.com;
KI Karolinska Institute Lucie Laflamme
Stockholm University Ilona Koupil ilona.koupil@su.se

 

  1. Urbanisation and Cities in the 21st Century 
University Name Email address
Lund University Johan Jansson (Chair) johan.jansson@fek.lu.se;
University of the Free State Wanda Verster VersterW@ufs.ac.za;
Central University of Technology Fidelis Emuze femuze@cut.ac.za;
Malmö University Maria Hellström Reimer maria.hellstrom.reimer@mah.se;
University of Gothenburg Anders Larsson anders.larsson@geography.gu.se

 

  1. Digital Technologies, Big Data, and Cyber Security
University Name Email address
Malmö University Paul Davidsson paul.davidsson@mah.se;
Umeå University Mikael Wiberg mikael.wiberg@umu.se;
Karlstad University Simone Fischer Hübner simone.fischer-huebner@kau.se;
Cape Peninsula University of Technology Thomas Thurner thurnert@cput.ac.za;
Linköping University Nimmo Elmi nimmo.elmi@liu.se