Academic Advisory Committees

The South Africa – Sweden Research Seminar 2019 will address six key themes.  Participants will be divided into parallel sessions within each theme.

Each of the six themes is led by an Academic Advisory Committee (AAC).

Below you can find names and contact information of the responsible Academic Advisory Committee within each theme.

  1. Climate Change, Natural Resources and Sustainability
University Name Email address
Gothenburg University Hans Linderholm (chair) hansl@gvc.gu.se;
Tshwane University of Technology Ntebogeng Mokgalaka (chair) MokgalakaNS@tut.ac.za;
Karlstad University Helen Williams helen.williams@kau.se;
University of South Africa Godwell Nhamo nhamog@unisa.ac.za;
Stellenbosch University Paul Williams pauljw@sun.ac.za;
Stockholm University Lennart Bergström lennart.bergstrom@mmk.su.se
University of Cape Town Sheona Shackleton sheona.shackleton@uct.ac.za
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences Joris Cromsigt joris.cromsigt@slu.se
  1. Education for a Sustainable Society
University Name Email address
University West Per Assmo (chair) Per.assmo@hv.se;
University of the Western Cape José Frantz (chair) jfrantz@uwc.ac.za; jlesch@uwc.ac.za
KI Karolinska Institute Juha Nieminen juha.nieminen@ki.se
Stockholm University Kicki Skoog kicki.skog@mnd.su.se
University of Cape Town Kasturi Behari-Leak kasturi.behari-leak@uct.ac.za
Malmö University Mona Holmqvist mona.holmqvist@mah.se;
  1. Social Transformation through Change: Knowledge and Social Development Strategies for Society
University Name Email address
Lund University Vasna Ramasar (chair) vasna.ramasar@lucsus.lu.se;
University of Cape Town Dee Smythe (chair) dee.smythe@uct.ac.za
Karlstad University Hilde Ibsen hilde.ibsen@kau.se;
University of Johannesburg Siphelo Ngcwangu siphelon@uj.ac.za
University of the Western Cape Shirley Brooks sbrooks@uwc.ac.za
University of Fort Hare Wilson Akpan/Ulene Schiller wakpan@ufh.ac.za; uschiller@ufh.ac.za;
  1. Understanding the Burden of Disease in Sweden and South Africa, and its Impact on the Health Systems of the two Countries in the Future
University Name Email address
Lund University Per Olof Östergren (chair) per-olof.ostergren@med.lu.se;
Durban University of Technology Noddy Jinabhai (chair) n.jinabhai@gmail.com;
Umeå University Anneli Ivarsson anneli.ivarsson@umu.se;
University West Martin Gellerstedt martin.gellerstedt@hv.se;
KI Karolinska Institute Lucie Laflamme Lucie.Laflamme@ki.se
Stockholm University Ilona Koupil ilona.koupil@su.se
  1. Sustainable urbanisation, travel and tourism in the 21st Century
University Name Email address
Lund University Johan Jansson (Chair) johan.jansson@fek.lu.se;
Stellenbosch University Josephine Kaviti Musango (chair) jmusango@sun.ac.za
University of the Free State Wanda Verster VersterW@ufs.ac.za;
Human Sciences Research Council Leslie Bank LBank@hsrc.ac.za
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences Madeleine Granvik Madeleine.Granvik@slu.se
  1. Digital Technologies, Big Data, and Cybersecurity
University Name Email address
University of Cape Town Jacques Ophoff (chair) jacques.ophoff@uct.ac.za
Linköping University Nicolette Lakemond (chair)  nicolette.lakemond@liu.se
Linköping University Gunnar Holmberg gunnar.holmberg@liu.se
Umeå University Mikael Wiberg mikael.wiberg@umu.se;
Karlstad University Simone Fischer Hübner simone.fischer-huebner@kau.se;
Cape Peninsula University of Technology Thomas Thurner THURNERT@cput.ac.za;
Linköping University Nimmo Elmi nimmo.elmi@liu.se
Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: